Nest of Luck!

This is a short chronicle of some memorable moments I spent studying the nesting of a Black-Crowned Night Heron (Nycticorax nycticorax). There are some very obvious gaps in the sequential progression of events leading from the construction of a nest to the growing up of the juvenile which I am painfully aware of. This shoot was indeed intended as a trial run to check my perseverance before going the whole hog. So hope you enjoy this trailer!

Scene 1:

Scene 1

I dither not though it takes all day long,
the choicest twigs to pick thin but strong.

Scene 2:

Scene 2

Twig by twig layer upon layer, and so I will build my own castle,
all for my babies yet to arrive, worthy it will be the whole hassle.

Scene 3:

Scene 3

A few days of hatching left, I can feel the movement within,
a shake here a rattle there, cracking of shells to soon begin.

Scene 4:

Scene 4

To feed my growing chicks is quite some ask,
catching so much fish is a pretty tough task.

Scene 5:

Scene 5

Ain’t I smart to toss titbits and lure the fish to rise,
here’s one more, grab, gulp, that was quite a size.

Scene 6:

Scene 6

Headed back with a decent catch, my chicks need to be fed,
regurgitate it for them to eat, and tuck them snug to bed.

Scene 7:

Scene 7

Tired flying out evening and night, foraging and feeding the lot,
A quick shut eye is what I plan, the babes though bring it to nought.

Scene 8:

Scene 8

So quickly they’ve grown big and strong, no longer they heed or rest,
eager to move out and test the winds, I’ll soon put their skills to test.

Scene 9:

Scene 9

And here is one stepping out on foot, keen to explore the wood,
a few weeks more the wings will bear, and fly out he will for good.

– Narendra Nayak © 2019

26 thoughts on “Nest of Luck!

    1. Thank you so much, Anamika! 🙏🏻
      Yes…quite a lot of patience and time; but that’s usually the case with wildlife photography. And the efforts fade away into insignificance if you get that one right shot! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes absolutely! Just like in life we have to wait for the perfect moment to capture the image in perfection. Of all the categories in photography you have fallen in love with the toughest and time consuming wild life photography. In real life are you a patient man?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Patience in the material world? Not at all – I need everything done yesterday! 😄
        But when it comes to my passion for nature photography, as soon as I step onto my turf, I get enveloped in a cloak of eternal peace and joy, and can live infinitely in that realm! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment