Impressions (Tale Two of Four)

Continued from the previous post.

Eavesdrop Moment!

I was being my usual annoying self, attempting to frame the rear of a, for once, disinterested bull when the bull paused grazing and stood still. I did likewise – stood still I mean. Head raised, it oriented its bulk a few degrees east and stared straight ahead. In its line of sight, but out of its line of approach, were three people standing by a two-wheeler, chit-chatting amicably. That is when I noticed the bull’s ears (see the picture) – pointed straight at the gossiping humans. It was listening!

It held the pose right until one of the humans parked the two-wheeler and the motley group moved indoors. Perhaps one of the gang was the bull’s owner, or perhaps it was wary of them due to some bad blood. Nevertheless, I now have further ground to believe that our fellow creatures take a keen interest in the motive and manner of humans.

Now you know you would do well to know they too know what you did last summer!

[Framed: Eavesdropping bull; Veling, Mardol, Goa]

– Narendra Nayak © 2023

10 thoughts on “Impressions (Tale Two of Four)

Leave a comment